Shit’s Still Hard

5658385033_20b53bbacb_z

 

S’cuse me mam?

S’cuse me. Mam?

Yes?

I, eh, I couldn’t trouble you for a dollar, for the bus, could I?

I’m sorry. I don’t really have anything.

 

You live around here?

I’m sorry?

Do you live around here?

Yes. I do.

Me too. Up at the US Bank.

Okay.

 

Do you think I look like Mike Tyson?

Eh, I don’t know what he looks like.

People say I look like him.

What do you say?

I say he looks like me.

That’s a good answer.

 

But I eh, I’m on that three strikes thing. You know that?

No.

Well, it’s like this: I been to jail two times, one more and they throw away the fuckin’ key. Pardon my Spanish.

I’m really sorry to hear that.

That’s okay. I’m fightin’ it. And don’t nobody want to fight with someone who looks like Mike Tyson.

Or someone that Mike Tyson looks like…

 

But it was the drugs, you know?

Yeah?

Terrible things. You don’t take the drugs. They take you.

That’s what people have told me.

Been clean for over two years now. But shit’s still hard. Pardon my German.

I’m sure. But you’re doing really well.

 

I see that you’re married.

Uh huh.

Well, don’t you tell your husband this, but you make my heart beat so hard.

That’s so sweet. Thank you.

Don’t you tell him now. And I’ll be on my way. You have a wonderful day now.

You too. You too.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Shit’s Still Hard

  1. Emma says:

    Love the characters in this. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

