Your Dash

What’s your dash going to tell people about you?
What?
Your dash. What’ll it say?
I don’t get it.
On your tombstone. Your dash.
I still don’t know what you mean.

Okay, so your stone will read Jim Collins, 1980 eh…
Four.
Right, of course. I knew that. 1984 to….whenever.
Okay.
See that dash in between the day you’re born and the day you die? That’s your dash.
Ah, okay.

So?
So what?
What’s it going to say?
Nothing. It’s a dash.
No, you’re thinking too literally.
It’s a weird question, I don’t really know how to answer it.

I know what mine will say.
What will yours say?
“Here lies a man that cheated the hand that God gave him.”
I like that.
So what about yours?
I’m not sure. I’ve never thought much about death.

The mark of a man is how he treads that dash. Remember that.
I will.
Because it isn’t long. It’s only about this long.
Well, it’s measured in years, not distance.
You really think that?
I’m not sure.

Son, you live it like you’d be happy to die.
Like ‘each day is your last’, kind of thing?
Not quite. More like, ‘In death, your unfinished business will never be held against you.’
Okay, how about this? ‘John Collins. 1984 – whenever. Died happy.’
Yeah, I like that.
Thanks dad. So why are you telling me this?

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Your Dash

  1. nice post. i like the epitaph i saw yrs.ago – >as you are now so once was i, as i am now so to shall you be.<. i think mine will say that so maybe people will really think about those words and not waste their lives.

  2. Gabriel says:

    I’m traying to learn “R”eal english thanks to you 😉 N”I”ce “P”ost.

  3. Kerita says:

    Love this 🙂 I can just picture this conversation being carried out between various people in many different settings, situations…

Leave a Reply

