Making a Website

I need some advice on setting up a website.

I’ve decided to move away from the free stuff and start paying for my own site. I really don’t know where to begin so I would appreciate any help that anyone can give me on this. I’m very fond of WordPress but I would like to start being able to link my Tumblr page to this, host some videos and have some parts in categories. You know, like “Writing”, “Photos” etc.

I also want to start hitting the SEO plug-ins and utilizing this keyword stuff so that I can start bumping up the number of views I get. I’m a whore, I know.

Anyway, since I’ve always used free stuff I don’t know very much about making the transition towards actually paying for stuff on the internet.

Does anyone have any advice or opinions on this?

 

 

 

Thanks x

11 thoughts on “Making a Website

  1. Yo, I know this is going to sound really bad but i have just switched (partly) to BLOGGER!
    I love wordpress though google(as always)have done a cracking job on the new design for blogger, really nice, loads of freedom and you can buy your own domain name for $10 a year. crispy.

  2. moon says:

    In WordPress it self you can set up ur website,,which is much better and safe..their security is the best i found…just contact a web-designer to begin with.
    will be waiting for ur website

  3. VG says:

    Sorry, my only experience from making a website was in IT class in grade 3 😛 Good luck Ross! We’ll support you all the way 🙂

  4. Laurence says:

    Hi Ross,

    I would suggest you to use Joomla for your new website. It ‘s easy to use and you can do a pretty good job with it. I think they might even offer deals for the domain and the different applications you might need.

    They don’t have anything on SEO and keyword stuff though, and for that part I would recommand to go for the services of a specialized business, if you have the money. In Québec, the cost may vary between CAN $ 500.00 and $1000.00, depending on what you want. Otherwise, you can easily find tutorials on how to write efficiently with keywords to attract viewers. And if you really want to go all marketing with this, Google Analytics is a very good (and free) tool to help you measure your impact.

    Oh, and I just finished reading your book and I really liked it! Even if I had some difficulties with what I think is some kind of Scottish slang, but that must be because my first language is French…

    Good luck with all this!

    • Thank you very much for the advice on this Laurence! I’ll have a good look into it and try to decide what the best thing for me is. I mean, it seems like Joomla is a popular choice among people. I’ll have a decent peek and prices and things over the coming days and I’ll let you know what I go for!

      And I’m glad that you enjoyed the book! I think the trick to getting the Scottish stuff is putting an accent in your head, which I guess isn’t the easiest thing to do if you’re 1) not from Scotland and 2) not a native English speaker. Still though, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      x

  5. Shawn says:

    We use Joomla for all our websites. It’s open source, which is nice, and they have tons of templates to choose from. You can tweak it a bit to your liking (but don’t overdo it because when there is an update, you’ll have to update your tweaks too!). Don’t ask me how — DH does it all, but it’s not that difficult. Because it’s open source and therefore free, we always send a donation. Joomla survives from these donations, the efforts of volunteer programers and a percentage of fees it gets when someone hosts his website on CloudAccess.net.

    I tried leaving links to interesting sites, but this won’t accept my comments.
    S.

    • Cheers Shawn! I’m going to take a good look at that over the next couple of days and take a look at their themes and what not. These are busy times right now!

      I found the website examples in the spam folder. They all look really good x

  6. Collette says:

    I don’t another way to reach you, but I seriously admire you and who you are as a person and I wanted good advice on how to teach English abroad. Email would be the best way to reach me if you can

Leave a Reply

