Photos from India: Delhi – God Will See

“You see these hands friend?” he shouted back, waving his hand in front of me. I kept my eyes on the road for him.

“Yeah”

“Clean hands. No cheating.”

I nodded. As another rickshaw cut in front of us he jammed his thumb onto the horn. It coughed an old cough . The other rickshaw coughed back.

“If I am cheating, God will see” he shouted, pointing to one of the gods that sat enshrined above his head.

“So you wait until he blinks?” I said.

He looked in his mirror. I caught his big smile.

“No no brother. Clean hands,” he said, lifting them off the handlebars and shaking them, “I am the best rickshaw driver in India!”

I belived that he probably was.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Photos from India: Delhi – God Will See

  1. Rina says:

    I guess, like a lot of people, I got here from your YouTube video about facebook. Lucky (?) for you, I like fictional stories, and I enjoyed this one, so I’m following you.

  2. This post is almost endearing. And highly ironic at the same time.

    Nicely written.

  3. Sarah says:

    Your writing is super mega-radical and inspiring. i started a word press account just to read your stories. Totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

